“Dioscorea Sylvatica” - Waking up…

Last year, I sowed seeds of “Dioscorea Sylvatica” and was growing the seedlings for my first time.

In the winter, when the leaves turned to yellow and went dormant, I digged in the pot. I was really surprised because my “Dioscorea Sylvatica” produced many potatos in the soil like normal potatos (as we eat)!

I have had “Dioscorea elephantipes” for a few years but never seen like that before.

I cut some small potatos indivisually, but kept 3 potatos connected together. And I buried them in soil to sleep during the winter. Honestly, I didn’t know what to do…

In June 2019, I found this today.

dsc_0003
“Dioscorea Sylvatica” by Botany Notes, 2019

New leaf is coming like this and it’s very strange to me.

Again, I don’t know what to do about this… so I planted it as it is. haha.

“Dioscorea Sylvatica” by Botany Notes, 2019
“Dioscorea Sylvatica” by Botany Notes, 2019

I’m very looking forward to seeing how it grows this summer!!!

Leave a comment